Everything you need to know about Euro 2016 in 60 sec


Here’s a big shout out to all you football idiots amateurs out there, if you’re not sure what all the football fans out there are raving about when it comes to Euro 2016, this article is for you.

What is it?
The 2016 UEFA European Championship, or simply known as Euro 2016, is the 15th edition of the UEFA European Championship. This is the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).

When is it?
This year, the event is scheduled to be held from 10 June to 10 July 2016 in France. So far, Spain has occupied the defending championship positions twice.

Euro 2016 will be different from the previous European Championships
Something special this year, however, is that the final tournament will be contested by an expanded pool of competitors of 24 teams instead of the usual 16 teams, a format used ever since it started in the year 1996. As such, the finalists will now compete in a group stage consisting of 6 groups of 4 teams, followed by a knockout stage which includes 3 rounds and the final.

It was already in the works even before 2013
Although the event is set to be held this year, its marketing strategy involving the design of the event’s official logo and slogan was worked on way earlier and eventually unveiled on 26 June 2013, during a ceremony at the Pavillon Cambon Capucines in Paris.

The event official logo
The design of the visual identity this time round is based on the theme “Celebrating the art of football”, with its logo depicting the Henri Delaunay trophy with the blue, white and red colours of the French flag, surrounded by a mixture of visuals representing different artistic movements and football elements.

Of course, let’s not forget the fact that they also have their official mascot for this tournament, Super Victor, which was unveiled on 18 November 2014.

The host of Euro 2016
France was chosen as the nation to play host to the event on 28 May 2010, where they beat Italy and Turkey in a bidding process. The matches will be played in the following 10 cities: Bordeaux, Lens, Lille, Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris, Saint-Denis, Saint-Etienne, and Toulouse.


This will be the third time that France will be playing host for the event, since the first tournament in year 1960, and the second time in the 1984 finals. Since it started, the French team has won the European Champion twice: once in year 1984, and again in year 2000.

The winning team in the UEFA European Championship this year will win the privilege to compete at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, set to be hosted by Russia next year.

Top Image: MediaPictures.pl / Shutterstock.com


Enjoyed this article because it’s both informative and entertaining? If so, you should download the Goody Feed app so that you won’t miss out on any articles, as there are app-exclusive contents as well! Also, join our Telegram channel if you use Telegram often!


You won't want to miss these most-read articles:

Javier is a perfectionist who pays extremely close attention to details, but can ironically procrastinate a lot more than one could ever imagine and end up getting things done far from perfect. He gets stressed out pretty often, but he deals with it easily by following his intuition "Eating Is The Way To Go". Besides, there is nothing that a therapeutic session with his headphones at full blast cannot subdue.