Everything About the Tightened Border Measures for Travellers Coming from Australia’s New South Wales


Australia’s New South Wales reported 11 coronavirus cases just yesterday (24 Jun), the third consecutive day the state has seen double-digit cases.

Tough restrictions have been imposed in Sydney as they continue to fight the outbreak of COVID-19, or more specifically, the highly contagious Delta variant. In addition, an individual who tested positive in Victoria state is suspected to be linked to one of the cases in the New South Wales outbreak.

As such, the Ministry of Health (MOH) has set out new regulations for travellers from New South Wales and Victoria state who plan on entering Singapore.

Travellers From New South Wales

From 11:59pm on Saturday (26 Jun), Singapore citizens, permanent residents and long-term pass holders entering the country will have to undergo an on-arrival COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test and serve a seven-day stay-home notice (SHN) at their place of residence.

Before the end of their SHN period, these individuals will have to take another COVID-19 PCR test.

As for short-term air travellers who hold the Air Travel Pass, they will not be allowed to enter Singapore if they had a travel history to New South Wales within the last 21 days before their departure.

Travellers From Victoria State

According to MOH’s press release, they have since updated the border measures for these travellers as the situation in Victoria State has improved.

Previously, all incoming travellers from the area were subjected to the same regulations for travellers from New South Wales.

These changes will take effect from 11:59pm on Saturday (26 Jun). Individuals with a travel history to Victoria State, Australia, within the last 21 days before departure for Singapore, will undergo a COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival.

If the PCR test result is negative, they will be allowed to go about their activities in Singapore without serving a seven-day SHN period.

As for short-term visitors with a travel history to Victoria State within the last 21 days before departure for Singapore, they can apply for an Air Travel Pass with immediate effect, if they are entering Singapore on or after 1 July 2021.

Similarly, they will have to undergo a PCR test on arrival but are free to go about their activities if it comes back negative.

However, travellers who are currently serving their seven-day SHN notice as of 11:59pm on 26 June will still have to complete their notice period and perform a PCR test.

“All other travellers with travel history to Australia (excluding New South Wales) in the last 21 days prior to travel will continue to be subject to a COVID-19 test upon arrival at the airport, in lieu of their SHN,” said MOH.

The ministry reassured that it would continue to adjust Singapore’s border measures to manage the risk of importation and transmission to the community.

It also noted that travellers should check the SafeTravel website for the most updated border measures before entering Singapore.


Featured Image: Nawadoln / Shutterstock.com