The Truth About WhatsApp Online Status: It Doesn’t Mean Someone is Reading Your Message

Latest Articles

I was fairly surprised when I was told to write an article about this topic. Everyone should know what the Whatsapp online status means, right? Hence, to avoid being a Captain Obvious, I messaged some of my friends to see if they knew what the WhatsApp Online Status means.

The second wave of surprise came when some of them actually said:


Advertisements  

“When that person reading your message” and “When I read your message”.

Oh well. Looks like it’s time for me to burn some bridges.

I’m just kidding. Anyway, now I think I can understand why so many people are confused by the “online” status.

Let me explain how this works.

The Truth About WhatsApp Online Status: It Doesn’t Mean Someone is Reading Your Message

The first type, also known as “last seen”, is the most common status you will see. In fact, it’s so self-explanatory I don’t think I need to explain it.

(Just in case, it’s referring to the timing a person last used Whatsapp, and has nothing to do with the WhatsApp Online Status)

Next, would be “typing”.


Advertisements  

It’s the status you get when you have people to talk to.

Or, when people actually bothered to reply. Some people would stay there forever because they can only type one word a minute.

Last but not least, “online”.

Whatsapp Online Status & NOT TYPING

So, does online on Whatsapp mean they are talking to someone?

Yes and no.

“Online” simply means that the person is using Whatsapp at the moment and he/she is connected to the internet.

The person could be replying another friend or crafting an important message in another chat.

Hence, he/she could just be too busy to look at your messages at the moment. “Online” does not necessarily mean that the person has seen your message. Remember, unless you’re a loner like me, a person would have lots of chats in his or her account, it means he or she is looking or replying to other messages.

If it’s your message, then it would’ve changed to “Typing”.

Another way to know if a person has seen your messages will be the blue ticks.

If the ticks have turned blue and the person is in “last seen”, I guess it’s time to delete that fella’s contacts!

…Nah, please don’t do that. Maybe that person’s colleague started a conversation with him/her. It’s common courtesy to put down your phone when speaking to another person, no?

Either way, if you’re free enough to stalk a person’s status…well, you probably need a hobby or something.


Advertisements  

Go get some fresh air and stop staring at your screen!

And if you’re worried about WhatsApp due to their new privacy policy and are thinking of switching to Telegram, watch this video to the end first:

Read Also:

Featured Image: Rahul Ramachandram / Shutterstock.com