PM Anwar Has Declared Next Monday (28 Nov) a Public Holiday


As you probably know, Anwar Ibrahim was sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Malaysia on 24 November. 

He has plans to restructure much of the nation, but this was the first thing he did as new PM.

PM Anwar Has Declared Next Monday (28 Nov) a Public Holiday

After Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s swearing-in as Prime Minister of Malaysia on Thursday (24 November), he announced that next Monday, 28 November 2022, will be a public holiday in Malaysia.

“I will discuss with the chief secretary because I have promised for a holiday on Monday this week, but this was not settled last Monday,” Datuk Seri Anwar said during a media conference at a golf club in Sungai Long on Thursday.

“God willing, this (impasse) is settled on Thursday, and I will fulfil my promise to have a holiday next Monday.”

PM Anwar started his prime ministerial duties on Friday (25 November) morning.

He had initially planned for Friday (25 November) to be a public holiday but decided to postpone it to the following week. 

“Foreign investors’ confidence has changed, the ringgit has strengthened and the stock market is fresher,” he said. 

“That is why I decided that Friday will not be a public holiday and instead, it will be next Monday.”

PM Anwar announced that his first focus as prime minister is to restore and strengthen the nation’s economy. As such, he has decided to let the post-election economic uptrend continue and not stop it prematurely on Friday. 

“It is not for Anwar, not for the party leaders, but to give this new sense of confidence to Malaysians that this is their land and their country.”


Join our Telegram channel for more entertaining and informative articles at or download the Goody Feed app here:

The 24-Year-long Wait

For context, Anwar was removed as deputy prime minister in 1998 by the then-prime minister Mahathir Mohamad. 

He has waited 24 years for this role and is now 75. He has been through a lot in his time, having been sent to jail three times, serving a total time of 11 years for charges like sodomy and corruption. 

Now, after finally securing his position as the 10th prime minister of Malaysia, he will form a “National Unity” government comprising Pakatan Harapan, Barisan Nasional, Gabungan Parti Sarawak, Gabungan Rakyat Sabah, Malaysian United Democratic Alliance, and Parti Bangsa Malaysia. 

Read also:

Featured Image: Mohd Nasirruddin Yazid / Shutterstock